Forgiveness

So, i read this C.S Lewis quote some time ago but it stuck like glue in my head because of how true it is. “Everyone thinks forgiveness is a lovely idea until he has something to forgive.” Its alot easier to tell someone to let something go, forgive and forget, but when we ourselves are faced with the challenge, its not so easy. Especially, like in my case, when the person who you need to forgive isn’t really sorry, AT ALL. As a matter of fact they think you’re ridiculous for even getting mad. This is a frustrating situation to be in.

I want to let it go. More than anything. I see how it holds me back, and that grudge is a feeling that is draining. So how do we do this? How do we forgive, when the person you need to forgive is totally oblivious or in denial to the pain they caused?

My pastor gave some great advice one Sunday morning. Forgive by faith. Now, i have to choose to forgive this person. And honestly it is not coming naturally at all, but by the grace of God i know every morning when i wake up and pray to Him to please set me free from these chains of unforgiveness (because, truly in the end, the person who isnt able to forgive is the one suffering the most) i know that he hears and little by little he will restore in me that peace i need to not see this person with the eyes i see them with now. I just want to be set free of the anger and hurt i hold towards them.

So we forgive by faith. And its alot harder when the person doesn’t deserve it. But you gotta do it for you, cause we’re the ones losing.

Jess

One thought on “Forgiveness

  1. Pingback: Forgiveness | Crow Arrow, Inc.

Leave a comment